Juniper Village at Huntingdon Ridge - North Huntingdon, PA

Room Type Monthly Range* (USD)
Semi-Private

$ X,XXX

Get Pricing >

Studio

$ X,XXX - X,XXX

Get Pricing >

Click Here to Get Pricing: Get Pricing

* Published prices are provided by the providers themselves, not by reviewers. Actual quotes may differ from what is presented based on timing and services required.

  • Minimum Age of Accepted Residents
  • Activities Onsite
  • Devotional Services Available
  • Indoor Common Areas
  • Meals Provided
  • Aging in Place
  • Nurses on Staff
  • Podiatrist Available
  • Physical Therapy Available
  • Occupational Therapy Available
  • Speech Therapy Available
  • Complimentary Transportation
  • Activities Offsite
  • Outdoor Common Areas
  • Beauty & Barber Services
  • Pets Allowed
  • No Smoking Allowed in Private Areas Indoors
  • No Smoking Allowed in Public Areas Indoors
  • Wheelchair Accessible Showers
  • Hospice Available
  • Respite Available
  • Resident Parking Available
  • Male Residents Accepted
  • Female Residents Only
  • Doctor on Call
  • Nurse on Call
  • Dentist Available

Customer Reviews

We chose this facility even though it was still under major remodeling. The project was very behind schedule, and resulted in moving patients around and stretching the staff across three floors. Many of the staff that we really preferred quit during this time.

It was absolutely clear, while allegedly maintaining state regulations on staffing, the care level was declining. From February to August of 2017, there were no call buttons, only a phone system in the room for residents to use. If patients forgot how to use the phone, there was no easy way to contact the staff.

The bathrooms were also remodeled in each room, but there was very tight for access, with no built in rails to assist residents in/out of toilet. The sink areas were constructed cheaply with Formica vanities with sharp edges and also no grab bars.

My 89-year old father had Congestive Heart Failure, using constant oxygen, and was under hospice care his last four months at Walden's View.

He ultimately succumbed to injuries from a fall in his bathroom. The staff found him after dinner, lying in a pool of blood. Post-dinner required all the staff to actively get residents back to their rooms. We are not sure how long he suffered on the floor. His injuries required emergency care--fourteen stiches to his head, and three to his (broken) nose. He was returned to the facility, and passed away one-day later.

While there was no doubt his health was clearly failing, the combination of an ill-constructed bathroom, no call/emergency buttons, and a stressed staff is what brought about ultimately very painful death.

Very Happy

my father is very happy there. they are helpful, friendly and answer all my questions. he is better off today than when he arrived there last year.

Working Out Well For Me Here

Everything has worked out well for me here at this community. They are very good with the cleaning, I'am very impressed with how clean they keep everything. The staff is helpful and kind. There are great activities offered. I love the meals, the food is good. This is a great community and I would recommend it.

Horrible Place

Do not ever put your loved one here. The worst care I have ever seen. I gave a thirty day notice a few days after moving my sister in this horrible place. First morning her cover sheet and pillow were gone off her bed. I had to hire someone to go and bath her and wash her hair. More than once her pull up was so wet that her outer pants were soaked also. She has had several UTI's so I had informed them in the beginning she needed to be changed when wet. No matter what you asked them they never had an answer. No one took responsibiliy for anything . I think they think since your loved ones are in memory care they can't tell you. Once the nurse that I hired went to my sisters room and someone else was in my sisters bed. Anytime you told the help there about a problem they just gave you a blank look. I requested the daily reports about my sister along with asking her weight after four days I had my attorney send a letter that they ignored. I don't know how this place stays open. They leave the people sit in the common area late at night instead of getting them ready for bed. This place does not have any pull cords if you need help.
It is just unbelievable. Do not ever put your loved one in Walden's View Irwin.

My mother just passed away. We was very happy with the facility. The staff was wonderful! They're in the process of doing some updating. They have a small common area for the less rowdy crowd and a bigger common area for the more rowdier crowd. They took very good care of my mom. I was very impressed with the workers there.

Terrible place to leave your family

I commend the employees for doing the job that they do, However the staff has been cut and the employees cannot handle the workload. I would not not put my dog in this place the food portions have been cut in half and I hear the owner of the business now lives on site. they are dumping all the good employees for whatever they can get. I feel terrible for all of the residents the staff and the family members who have placed mothers fathers brothers in this dump I advise looking elsewhere from this point on

Since the new company took over this place I would not keep my dog. The food is being rationed, the house keeping sucks because they let all the good help go, the people that are still there I have no ill will towards cause I have known them a long time and they did a fine job, however half of them are gone now. calls have been made to the state and the current owner lives on site which is unheard of. this place is going to the pits if you have family here i recommend you move them out asap!

The staff has been very responsive and helpful..

The staff has been very responsive and helpful. They had personal interest in assimilating my mother despite her resistance. They have been attentive to working with us as we are out of town. Everyone has been really friendly. They have been accommodating. They do a great job at taking care of my mother. The value is excellent. It has been a really good experience. The Juniper Village is a very good place.

A nice place

I think its a nice place for people to put their loved ones. My husband just needed more care than they offered. The meals were adequate. I can't rate the activities because my husband did not participate in them. The staff was friendly.

Juniper Communities

Local Representative

Thank you for sharing your comments here. It is unfortunate that sometimes, as we age and our health care needs increase, we must move to a more appropriate setting to receive the additional care that is required. It is our hope that when this happens with our residents and families that we are able to help ensure a smooth transition to a higher level of care. We appreciate the time that your husband was with us and wish you both all the best in the future.

Some good some not so good.

Food is awesome! Waitstaff needs trained on how to handle dishes, glasses and silverware properly. There are many in-house activities and a very caring staff. Phone system for rooms is outdated. There are limited opportunities to activities in the community. Building dark and smelly. Decor outdated. Hallways narrow and dim. Bathrooms quite small in many rooms. Bathrooms not cleaned well. Plumbing and plumbing fixtures leaky and unsightly, rusty and breaking (bathtub drains). Windows are very dirty and window coverings are old and unsightly. No green space for residents. Parking lot needs paved. My parent is happy here. My parent is not encouraged enough to engage in activities or to eat healthy.

Juniper Communities

Local Representative

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding Juniper Village at Huntingdon Ridge. We are pleased that your parent is happy here. It is our pleasure to maintain a positive environment for our residents and keep their needs and preferences top of mind. You have raised some concerns that we hope you have taken to the Executive Director Tammy Long. If not, please reach out to her. We maintain an open door policy and do our best to address concerns like this immediately. Please also know that we are updating bathrooms whenever suites are vacated. To date, we have completed 12 and will continue to work until all have been updated. We appreciate your attention to detail.

Very Caring

Very caring, people are nice, attentive,
She doesn't like activities, value is good, room sizes are decent.

Juniper Communities

Local Representative

Thank you for sharing your comments and rating us so highly. We appreciate you noticing the quality of our staff, their caring demeanor as well as their attentiveness. We are proud of our teams and our programs. As you mentioned, if someone does not enjoy participating in activities, we certainly allow them the freedom to make their choices. While most residents enjoy participating in many varied activities, some residents choose to be more selective and participate in something more tailored to their individual needs. Our Connections Program addresses such needs in an individualized manner to appeal to all residents in their own way. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

Review of Juniper Village at Huntingdon Ridge Assisted Living in North Huntingdon, PA

Staff awesome. Physical plant beat up

Juniper Communities

Local Representative

Thank you for taking the time to provide this four star review of Juniper Village at Huntingdon Ridge. We are extremely proud of our staff and their commitment to nurturing the spirit of life in all of our residents as well as their families and our staff. While we understand your desire to remain anonymous, we invite you to contact our Executive Director, Tammy Long, with your concerns regarding the physical plant. Tammy maintains an open door policy and welcomes any feedback. Our primary goal is to provide and safe, clean and engaging environment for our residents. Any specifics that you can provide will help us to address any issues that you may have identified. Again, we appreciate your good rating of our community and look forward to hearing from you again.

Very happy with this place

So far my loved one seems very happy here! The staff are all very friendly, everyone knows his name, and they actively encourage residents to attend activities, etc. They've got a large variety of things to do, a couple different activities every day, and a large variety of different things they do to keep them active.

Juniper Communities

Local Representative

Thank you for sharing your observations about our friendly, professional staff and our exceptional activities program - Connections. Our Connections Program is at the heart and soul of how we engage our residents and continue to nurture the spirit of life. We are very proud of the program and thankful that you have taken the time to recognize it. We appreciate your comments and referrals to our community. Thank you!

Juniper Communities

Local Representative

Thank you for sharing your observations about our friendly, professional staff and our exceptional activities program - Connections. Our Connections Program is at the heart and soul of how we engage our residents and continue to nurture the spirit of life. We are very proud of the program and thankful that you have taken the time to recognize it. We appreciate your comments and referrals to our community. Thank you!

No long term care and no ap...

No long term care and no apartment situations.

Juniper Communities

Local Representative

We do offer long term personal care; but do not offer independent apartments. If there is anything that we can help you with please feel free to contact us. If we do not meet the level of care that you are looking for we are happy to refer you to someone who can help you.

Private Pay Only

Private Pay Only

Juniper Communities

Local Representative

You are partially correct. Juniper Village at Huntingdon Ridge is a private pay community, but we do also have some residents who pay for their accommodations through long term care insurance or Veteran's benefits. If you have questions about how to pay for personal care, please contact us, we are happy to help you review your options.

From the Community

Beautiful AL/Dementia and Alzheimer’s campus conveniently located off the PA Turnpike at the Irwin exit ½ hour east of Pittsburgh. 108 suite AL residence and 80 Alzheimer’s/Dementia suites within a separate locked building. Our environment offers ample, safe space to explore, and courtyards where residents can enjoy the outdoors.

Each facility boasts a specialized care staff, e delicious meals per day and snacks, and tailor made “Connections” activity program to enhance the lives of all of our Senior residents.

With an innovative and forward thinking approach, our Juniper community seeks to change the face of aging and nurture the spirit of life in each individual that we serve.