Morningside of Alpharetta - Alpharetta, GA

Room Type Monthly Range* (USD)


Get Pricing >



Get Pricing >

1 Bedroom


Get Pricing >

Click Here to Get Pricing: Get Pricing

* Published prices are provided by the providers themselves, not by reviewers. Actual quotes may differ from what is presented based on timing and services required.

  • Minimum Age of Accepted Residents
  • Activities Onsite
  • Devotional Services Available
  • Indoor Common Areas
  • Meals Provided
  • Aging in Place
  • Nurses on Staff
  • Podiatrist Available
  • Physical Therapy Available
  • Occupational Therapy Available
  • Speech Therapy Available
  • Complimentary Transportation
  • Activities Offsite
  • Outdoor Common Areas
  • Beauty & Barber Services
  • Pets Allowed
  • No Smoking Allowed in Private Areas Indoors
  • No Smoking Allowed in Public Areas Indoors
  • Wheelchair Accessible Showers
  • Hospice Available
  • Respite Available
  • Resident Parking Available
  • Male Residents Accepted
  • Female Residents Only
  • Doctor on Call
  • Nurse on Call
  • Homecare Onsite
  • Dentist Available

Customer Reviews

Older but clean and feel a little more like home. Country cooking food. Still feel like we are too young for assistant living. Apartment very small and carpet. Bedroom have no space for night stand and only queen size bed will fit in. Not much closets leaving are very small, just fit two recliners.They gave us delicious cake and pie to carry home.

A nurses perspective

I am a visiting caregiver. I have been to this facility many times and have been in the field 20 years, Although this has always been a nice looking and feeling place, my most recent experiences here have been horrible. The staff yells all the time non stop at night and early morning. They act like they own the place and not like this is the residents homes. They are loud and disrespectful. They do not knock before entering rooms. They need some serious management and teaching. They need to actually care and they don’t care about anyone sleeping here. Worst part is families don’t know because they aren’t here late nights or early. I’m listening to them now like they are partying. Talk and yell less, and work more.

Really satisfied

The community is kept very clean and the grounds are well maintained. The food looks presentable. The caregivers treat dad very well and encourage him to participate in some of the daily activities. This community is close to family and dad seems content. I would recommend this community.

Comfortable Respite Stay

My husband had a comfortable two-week respite stay at Morningside of Alpharetta. A very nice and clean community. My husband did not care for the food, but what do you expect from an assisted living community.They offered plenty of activities for the residents to participate in. Since my husband was only there for such a short time he did not go on the outings provided. The staff was very friendly and caring.

Care is suffering under new management!

My mother has been living in the assisted living for 4 years and the care was very good until the new company, five star took over. The whole management staff has quit and many of the caretakers. The new company is not paying competitive wages and as we all know you get what you pay for. Change is hard for the elderly and now I have no other choice but to move my mom. Look elsewhere.

Five Star Reviews

Local Representative

Like in all senior living communities some staff turnover is inevitable, however many of our management and team members have been with us for 1, 5, 10 or even 15+ years! We know our team members are our most valuable asset, and in a competitive job market we have increased starting pay and offer a comprehensive benefits package, including tuition assistance for our team members working toward degrees. Please contact us if you would like to know more about what we are doing to find and retain the talented people who work directly with our residents like your mom.

She Is Happy Here And Likes It

I helped my friend's mother find a community. A Place for Mom was a big help for us. My friend's mother has adjusted well to the community. She really likes it and the people are very kind. My friend is pleased with the type of care her mother is getting. Her mother is starting to come out her shell and try new activities. She is happy and that is the most important thing.

Review of Dogwood Forest of Alpharetta - Alpharetta, GA

Love this place. Beautiful facility and the people are very helpful

Mom Is Doing Well

My mom is doing very well and have adjusted very well. This is a nice community with kind people. The community looks nice and clean. The staff is good very and caring for my mother very well. She enjoys the activities like bingo and the shopping trips. She seems happy and I am pleased with this community.

Excellent staff, clean facility, great residents

Moved my Loved one in February to DF. The experience has been all positive. The support staff was there for us every step of the way. They helped moved furniture, installed tvs on wall, and fulfilled every request immediately. The food is good, activities are fun and plentiful, a relaxed and pleasant environment. The facility is clean and well kept. This place has more of a homey feel than others I toured and my loved one is adjusting quickly.

Good layout

Very friendly staff, especially the dog. Good layout. Wheelchair acc under sinks (not found in a lot of other places). We like Dogwood a lot.

Seemed like a nice place

I toured this community while looking into care options for a loved one. The facility was well kept and clean, and all of the staff I met seemed friendly and professional. We ended up selecting another community, but this is somewhere I would have considered as an option for my loved one.

Nice place, overall

Overall I think they do a good job at Dogwood Forest of Alpharetta. The facility is clean and well kept, and for the most part the staff is friendly and helpful. I really have no complaints, things have gone very well since my loved one moved in!

Much improved living

Mom and Dad are happy with their new home as compared to another place they have lived. There is always room for improvement that can be seen once one is settled in any assisted living environment. Dogwood Forest seems to be all they claim to be but it is still necessary for residents and their family to point out where some details are lacking. I think this is mainly due to turnover of staff in residences like this and the attention to detail and customer care mind-set of each individual staff member.

My siblings and I have found that our parents are not always willing to speak up but will grumble to us behind the scenes. So we take it upon ourselves to kindly point out to those in charge, the areas of concern our parents have. So far our small concerns have been well received and addressed....and that's a good sign! There are always questions you don't think to ask upon visiting a residence so I recommend each person who is searching for one, to think through your own day and the needs you have on a regular basis in order to make a list of items to ask about and get answers up front.

For example, if a place says they do laundry, ask specifics about how it is done to determine how well your parent's belongings will be taken care of. Some places throw darks right in with the whites. For a woman who has been meticulous about her own laundry all her life will feel discouraged when her bright white items come back looking gray, which in turn could reduce her enthusiasm and morale. For someone who never cared much about how their laundry looked, this item wouldn't be a concern. You get the out for the things that are important to your parent, not just to you.

Kia Crawford

Local Representative

Thank you for your kind words. Great recommendations. Please communicate to your parents that we really want them to feel comfortable sharing with us in concerns or questions they might have. However, if they prefer for you to continue to speak to us on their behalf, that's perfectly fine with us as well. Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Friendly Atmosphere

Very helpful staff, always friendly. The facility is clean and pleasant. The food is fair, but the staff is willing to find alternatives.

Nice and homey!

Nice and homey...friendly staff.Meals need to be upgraded. The food is not consistent, sometimes good, sometimes pretty bad. Should be a lot better quality of food.

Dirty. Floors throughout stained and I vacuumed. Was shown rm with clogged toilet (yuk!) and dead bug on floor (double yuk!). Nice views from rooms of trees and outdoor patio. One room had screened porch. Resident dog is awesome. Long corridors with old yellow ceiling lighting made it look dismal. Nice nooks for reading. Good looked terrible..canned peas and something in identifiable. Memory care unit for transitioning.

Kia Crawford

Local Representative

Hello. Thank you for your review. We are sadden to hear about your initial impressions from your recent visit with our community. Though we typically don't show apartments that are not prepared for viewing, in this case, we decided to give you an idea of the size of the one bedroom apartment you were interested in, so you wouldn't leave with any questions on what we offer in terms of apartment size. As we explained to you that day, though the apartment was in the process of being prepared for the next resident, it wasn't quite move-in ready just yet. We can assure you that we take great pride in our apartments appearance and functionality as our Environmental Services Director is dedicated to this very thing. We apologize for any negative impressions we might have left you with as we always strive to put our best foot forward by leaving a lasting and positive impression.
Also, we are happy that you met Abby, the community's dog! She is a real sweetheart and the resident's love her!
In regards to the lighting...every detail in our community is chosen by design. We feel the warmer light color better fits our homelike environment. Our community was renovated and expanded not to long ago, so everything that you saw was designed with purpose. You probably noticed other elements representing our philosophy on design exemplified through our choice of wall color, furniture and those cozy reading nooks found throughout our community that you mentioned in your [removed]
In reference to dining, we aren't exactly sure what we were having for lunch the day you visited, but our resident's really enjoy the cuisine offered at Dogwood Forest and our Dining Services Director takes pride in the food she offers.
We hope that we will have another opportunity to leave a better impression because we really are a great senior living option as we have served hundreds of seniors over the years! Please give us a call with any additional questions you may have!

The care is excellent, and reliable. Great entertainment! I feel safe here, it feels like a big family.

Kia Crawford

Local Representative

Thank you so much! Its glad to know that you fee safe andl at home here! Thank you for your review!

Dogwwod Alpharetta has "the right stuff."

Dogwood has a friendly, helpful atmosphere from the moment you walk in the door. The staff seems to really want to be there and is very helpful. Activities are available throughout the day, and residents help one another have access to them. Their special events are memorable, as I have attended the Thanksgiving dinner several years in a row. I have become friends with a number of residents and staff members in recent years.

Overall, a very good place with compassionate staff.

Having already toured three nearby facilities, I knew Dogwood was the right place for my mother when I visited. Barb, the community relations director, was very personable and seemed genuinely interested in my situation. The facility is very homelike, a good size, and not too formal. One concern that I had was that there is not a lot of outdoor space, like a garden for taking walks.
Overall, our experience at Dogwood has been good. I feel confident about my mother being there. The staff are very compassionate, which is what a primary caregiver wants when a parent has dementia.
There is room for improvement, however. More attention needs to be given to cleaning the residents' rooms. The activities are great, but when Dot, the activities director is gone over the weekends and for vacation, they are sparse.

Dogwood review

I have been the primary caregiver for my parent for several years, and spend a lot of time at Dogwood Forest. My parent has resided in four different assisted living facilities over the years. Dot Wickersham had been the Activities Director at one of the facilities he lived in a couple of years ago. He asked to relocate here because she had taken a position here. My father is blind, but has very good cognitive function. He enjoys the activities, but needs to be in a location where the activity director will make the effort to plan some activities he can participate in.
Overall, I would say that my father and I are moderately satisfied. There are things that we are not satisfied with.
1. When Dot is not working, there are no activities. I know that things are listed on the activity calendar, but almost none of those activities happen. And no one comes to get my father for the activities that do happen. And when Dot is on vacation or out for several days, my dad usually doesn't even leave his room except for meals. I find this really upsetting, and it puts a lot of stress on me to make even more trips to visit him since he is so lonely and bored when there are no activities.
My second complaint is that the rooms are not cleaned very well. My father's bathroom is never cleaned well. In fact, my daughter will not even use the restroom in there because she says it is "yucky". The shower looks dirty, the bed is never neatly made, and the furniture is never dusted. Because my father can't see, he doesn't notice how dirty his apartment is. My husband & I come in and clean every week. We brought a vacuum cleaner in, and have just taken over trying to do things ourselves. This does bother me, as I feel like proper cleaning is part of the service we pay for.

Dogwood Forest is the second home I've lived in. I really love living here. The Executive Director and staff are excellent.

Review of Dogwood Forest of Alpharetta Alzheimer's / Memory Care in Alpharetta, GA

Sense of community feel. Casual laid back atmosphere, friendly staff...felt like it would be a good fit. Short drive to home.

Kia Crawford

Local Representative


Thank you for taking the time to review our community. We're happy you enjoyed your tour. Please let us know if you come across anything we can help you with. We value being a thorough resource!

Friendly and attentive staff!

I don't have experience with any other communities to compare this to, but so far we have been very pleased with the service from Dogwood Forest of Alpharetta! The staff have all been very cordial and friendly, and seem to take great care of their residents. They are attentive and professional. Whenever I visit it leaves me with a feeling of confidence knowing that my loved one is being well cared for.

Lack of Communication/Dirty

Put my Mom in for Memory Care. Fell after 4th night and was never the same. The Caregivers there were great but there was a severe communication problem between staff. Directors, Nurses, Med Tech's they all did not pass on information to each other. There needs to be a daily log for each patient as to how they are doing, changes in meds, etc.... If there is one, they don't use it. I even told caregiver that patients was choking. They said the patient needed "Thicken it" and her family had not brought any in. Another caregiver asked the person in charge and she said "Oh no, she doesn't get that anymore and hasn't for about a month now". The Caregiver asked her if it was in the log book and the person in charge said no it wasn't!!! The Memory Unit was also pretty dirty! They have one person cleaning and maintenance and he does not do a good job. At first glance it looks nice but look again at the filth!

Kia Crawford

Local Representative

Hi Amy,
We are appreciative of your initial kind words concerning our caregivers. However, we are disappointed to hear of the experiences concerning team member communication. We can assure you that we do indeed have a log book and use it at all of our communities for team members to communicate any changes in condition. While we are unaware of the full scope of what took place with this particular situation, we thank you for your post and we will certainly reiterate the necessity of using a log book at our upcoming team member in-service. Also, please be aware that our Executive Director's door is always open in case you want to voice any concerns.
In terms of the buildings cleanliness: we have dedicated, full time housekeepers at Dogwood Forest of Alpharetta. So the prior statement that we only have one with dual roles is inaccurate. It would really be impossible to have one person cleaning a community of this size and maintain Dogwood's high standard. However, we will make SURE that we address any cleanliness concerns brought forth by our family members because we are always striving to ensure our community is a safe and clean environment for our residents. Again, thank you for your comments.

We Belong at Dogwood Forest

I walk in to Dogwood Forest and it never smells soiled. There is always someone walking around cleaning or doing something. There is always something going on there. That's one of the reasons I liked it. There is a lot of staff that always seems to be on hand and always smiling. I checked around several places and Dogwood Forest is not on the highest end, price-wise, but it's not on the lowest end either. For how long they've been in business and who they have on the staff I think it's a really good value.

There have been small things like times where there has needed to be follow up, an appointment, a lab result or something and it falls through the cracks. It's really only been once or twice and I understand these things happen. It's not been a severe problem.

There is a board that tells you what's going on for the day. The family gets a monthly activities calender mailed to them and so do the residents. They have anything from bible study to scrabble to exercise. They try to cater to everyone and everything. There is a little bit of something for everyone.

It's like an extension of an old southern home with a porch and rocking chairs. The receptionist is so personable. She knows all the residents and she knows me. It's a well oiled machine. When I saw it I felt like we belonged there.

Happy With My Dad There

I think they do a great job. Where they could improve is when certain leaders are not there, like the team leads or whatever they call them, they could have more consistency. That's the only thing I can think of but I do think they're doing a great job and I'm very happy for my dad to be there. They have music and bingo and they do word games.

Improve the small things

They do all the big things right, like medication, really well but a lot of the small things they do not. The workers are trying and really want to do everything but I feel like they might be understaffed. When I say small things I mean things like missing some laundry, certain parts of bathroom not clean, and other things like that. I feel like they say they check on them every two hours but if one is not with the main group then they do not check on them as much. Overall they are doing the best they can and the current staff is really trying hard, they could just use a little more help.

Was not impressed by the reception st...

Was not impressed by the reception staff. She was very helpful about getting us in touch with the director because there was confusion about the appointment, but other than that her professionalism lacked. Really appreciated the director, and the individual rooms were wonderfully updated and appointed. Not impressed by the memory care facility nor the staff of the facility. Memory care was not "locked down" but had an alarm on the door instead. When the alarm went off, they didn't pay any extra attention to it. The Memory Care section was very smelly and didn't seem overly clean.

beautiful place

beautiful place

New Activities Direcor gave tour and ...

New Activities Direcor gave tour and did not have all answers. Facility is very nice but very costly!

Pros: Very nice environment. Num...

Pros: Very nice environment. Numerous activities. Mandatory employee training on elderly care. Cons: Size. Expense.

This is one of my top choices.

This is one of my top choices.

Liked the facility. Clean, cheerful a...

Liked the facility. Clean, cheerful atmosphere. Size size. Base price is high and start up fee is steep. Location is convenient.

From the Community

At Morningside of Alpharetta, we understand that the environment you live in significantly impacts the quality of life that you live. That's why we created our assisted living facility environments and services with all of the details that have been clinically proven to produce positive outcomes in the health and lives of seniors.
Morningside of Alpharetta senior living community is located just a short distance off Georgia 400. Our campus is in the heart of beautiful historic Alpharetta filled with unique shops and restaurants, and in just minutes away from Northside Hospital's Alpharetta Medical Campus, North Point Mall and several beautiful parks and walking trails in North Fulton County.