Standish Village At Lower Mills - Boston, MA

Room Type Monthly Range* (USD)


Get Pricing >



Get Pricing >

1 Bedroom


Get Pricing >

2 Bedrooms


Get Pricing >

Click Here to Get Pricing: Get Pricing

* Published prices are provided by the providers themselves, not by reviewers. Actual quotes may differ from what is presented based on timing and services required.

  • Minimum Age of Accepted Residents
  • Activities Onsite
  • Devotional Services Available
  • Indoor Common Areas
  • Meals Provided
  • Complimentary Transportation
  • Pets Allowed
  • No Smoking Allowed in Private Areas Indoors
  • No Smoking Allowed in Public Areas Indoors
  • Hospice Available
  • Respite Available

Customer Reviews


At first we thought my Mom was happy here then as she needed more assistance Aides began taking advantage and [Removed] her. I witnessed first hand three separate Aides giving my elderly her fallen pills from the floor. When two of the Aides were confronting me and when I reported this to top Administration at the location, I was thanked for pointing this out because there is not a written rule to not give pills off the floor! So they have Aides attend a handwashing in service but they need a written rule for not giving pills off the floor?! Absolutely disgusting!
At the end of my Mom's stay she said she felt the Aides did not care. Really sad.

Bob Larkin

Local Representative

When this incident occurred two years ago, ​we took immediate steps to retrain our staff in our policies and procedures regarding our medication management service.

We do indeed have a written procedure for handling a situation when ​residents or staff inadvertently drop a pill ​on the floor. Our medication management service is called SAMM (self administered medication management), which means that our resident care aides hand residents their medications, along with a glass of water, and the residents take their pills themselves. When pills are dropped by an aid or a resident, residents then have the ​option to ​be given new medications.

I am disturbed and​ sorry that your Mom felt that ​any member of our staff was uncaring.​ This is what causes me the most angst about your review. We try very hard to hire only the best - people who have compassion for the elderly and treat them with dignity and respect at all times. We provide continuous training for our staff in every department at our communities to make sure they are upholding our Right Values which puts Resident Quality of Life as our number one priority. I would hate to think that any resident in any community would not feel completely supported, appreciated and valued. I will personally revisit this with the staff who took care of your Mom two years ago.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this privately.

-Robert Larkin, President, Senior Living Residences [removed]

A Safe Harbor

Client is very happy. Place is well run and all appear very concerned about residents. I have confidence it was a good decision.

We have had some kind caregivers for our family member over the last few years. The current director [Removed] is very difficult to work with. We have found her to be rigid and at times unprofessional. She has made a very difficult situation so much more stressful and overwhelming. Not a good fit for us.

Bob Larkin

Local Representative

Thank you for taking the time to review our community. I appreciate that you mentioned the kind caregivers you have encountered at Standish Village. The wellness team at Standish Village from our Resident Care Director to the wellness nurses and our wonderful group of resident care associates try their best to provide great care and supportive services to residents. We aren’t perfect, but that’s what we strive for.

​I am, however, so sorry that you have not had the same experience working with the community's director.​ Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this privately. My door is always open to residents and their families.

-Robert Larkin, President, Senior Living Residences [removed]

This community was not what I expected!

The administrative staff could improve on their bedside manner. We have had numerous disagreements about the care of my loved one. They seem unprofessional and that it is more about money than the residents. The caregivers that work with my loved one are great. The community is beautiful. They offer a lot of wonderful things. I would move in if I could

A Nice Community, My Tour Went Well

I really enjoyed our tour of this community, it went very well. The staff I met was nice and friendly. Our tour guide was kind and informative. She answered my all questions. The community appeared to be well maintained, everything was nice and clean. It was a very nice tour. This is a good community.

It Was Lovely

I was able to meet with management who gave me a good tour. I was able to see how lovely it looks. It was clean and I did not see anything to complain about. I only noticed that this community is smaller than other places. I would recommend this community.

Nice looking place!

I toured this community while looking into care options for a loved one. The facility was well kept and clean, and all of the staff I met seemed friendly and professional. However, I don't think this felt quite as "homey" as some others that we toured. We ended up selecting another community, but this is somewhere I would have considered as an option for my loved one.

Standish Village is Home.

My parents recently moved to Standish Village which I can say is the very best thing that could have happened. They have a lovely apartment with bright windows that was completely renovated....lovely facility and gardens.However,
As wonderful as the apartment is-It is the wonderful staff that welcomed them in and has made them feel as though they have been there a very long time. Their kindness, respect and care is superior from Matt the resident director, Shari director in Memory care services, Roy, Katie, Suzie all the nursing aides....Anthony the chef and ALL we come in contact with. Standish (Shari) recently planned an occasion to celebrate my parents 60 th anniversary and had a ceremony, wedding cake, champagne and all things celebratory to make this a smashing Event and wonderful memory.We have been so touched by this wonderful community and can NOT say enough good about Standish Village. Lots to do, many activities and trips,much support, great location, access to medical care locally,and great communication with family members. My parents feel at Home, truly.
Check them out for traditional and memory care excellence.
PS. The food is great too!!

May not be right for him

I think this may not be the best place for him, it comes down to cost and there aren't a lot of other different options for him. It's near transportation, Lower Mills I think is a fine area, I just think the age population is not right for him, they're much older than he is so I don't know if there's any place where he'll feel comfortable. He does try, they're very friendly and he has connected with some. I think they're caring people there, but he needs help they can't give him. The location is good, it's next door to a place he worked out in every morning, it's right around the corner so that was good for him. I think the biggest thing is fitting in with the other residents. There was some question about whether Standish was following through on the activities they said they were going to do, but I don't live there so I don't know.

Nice, but frequent change in management

Nice, but frequent change in management

Completed a tour and the facility was...

Completed a tour and the facility was nice. Was second on the list.

From the Community

Standish Village in historic Lower Mills is an assisted living community where our goal is to always surround older people with distinction by providing a desirable residence, exceptional service, the cultural and dining opportunities they want, all while creating the peace of mind that comes from knowing their needs are met.

Highlights of Standish Village at Lower Mills include: 1. All resident activity of daily life support is included in the price of the apartment. This allows our Wellness team to modify care plans tailored to our resident needs without affecting the cost.

2. Reconnections Program: Created through our affiliation with Boston University's Alzheimer's Disease Center, Reconnections is an experiential curriculum-based adult learning program.

3. Angels at Home: Angels at Home Wellness Center at Standish Village allows the skilled care needs of our residents to be met in the community.

4. Historic Lower Mills: Located next to the Walter Baker Chocolate Factory, Standish Village at Lower Mills exudes the charm of a historic mill. From soaring ceilings to walls of windows, our residents enjoy amenities and conveniences without compromising their dignity and independence. Multiple fine dining restaurants, the Milton Lower Mills Wharf, shopping, and two MBTA stops are within walking distance of the community.

5. Memory Preservation Nutrition Program Diet: Our residents benefit from a customized diet rich in "brain foods" such as antioxidants, fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains, and omega-three fatty acids prepared daily by our chefs.