Allendale Community for Senior Living - Allendale, NJ

Room Type Monthly Range* (USD)


Get Pricing >



Get Pricing >



Get Pricing >

1 Bedroom


Get Pricing >

2 Bedrooms


Get Pricing >

Click Here to Get Pricing: Get Pricing

* Published prices are provided by the providers themselves, not by reviewers. Actual quotes may differ from what is presented based on timing and services required.

Customer Reviews

Safe environment

My mom has been liv6here 4+ yrs. Wait staff in dining room courteous food is tasty
Food services try their best.
Atmosphere clean and neat.
Staff is attentive, especially if your parent is on levels of care. A large facility, with uplifting programs, . Mom is safe here.

Staff attentive

Mom has been here 4 yrs.
Housekeeping keeps the residents rooms cleaned. Clean facility. Changes over the passed years, remodeled the lounge, and courtyard and
New food service director, food tastier. Staff attentive.
Since mom been here, she's comfortable. Its a little depressing to watch mom age.
But the nurses and aides perk her up.

Problem patient placement

I had a difficult time placing my mother due to her mental and physical illnesses. (mental illness hospitalizations, Hx of strokes,broken leg, and Alzheimers-to name a few) I was turned down by 4 other (more expensive) care facilities. All of whom had assured me they would be able to take my mom. Other places had taken deposits from me and then changed their mind about accepting my mom. This was devastating.

Allendale was upfront and efficient with our admission process. Allendale gave me a time frame and there were no hidden fees, or requirements. I am thrilled with the care she is receiving at Allendale. They keep me informed when it is needed . My mother seems happier there than when she was at home with my family. This was a hard decision to make but I have been very happy with my choice of Allendale for a safe place for my mother.

Thank you.

I toured the facility and overall was satisfied. I did find the rooms to be old since the facility was established in 1957 and they could use some updating. The studio is small and no kitchenette. On the positive side they have a nursing home attached should it be needed in the future and a memory care unit.

No activities!

There are no activities happening in the memory care section as of [date removed]. They fired the activities personnel and are not replacing them.
The website says there are full day therapeutic activities but that is NOT happening. The calendar on display looks great. However, 95% of those things listed are not happening. The residents are only watching television. There are no decorations in the lobby or on the windows.
This used to be a fabulous place. But these last few months have been terrible
Administrator and owner are NOT responding to family concerns.

Excellent staff reception and tour. Everyone was warm and helpful!

Single room is small and dated but workable. New paint, fresh carpet and a single bed will warm it up and allow for 2 sitting chairs and a small table.

Lack of communication

Mom been there 3 + yrs. Food is not that good, serve chicken 3 times in a week. administration do not communicate, ignore family concerns . In mom's room the carpet has never been shampoo and cleaned after a few requests.

My wife is in an excellent care from the staff who are very knowledgeable. They have doctors that are available. The community. is clean and a good environment for her to be in. The menu seems to be good and she is pleased. This community does offer physical therapy that is helpful. I like knowing that she is getting the care that is needed for her.

Still working on things

My loved one is participating in some of the daily activities. The staff are very nice and always greet you genuinely. There have been some minor issues with communication in regard to getting some concerns addressed. The food seems healthy and they have enough choices. The community is clean. There are woods across the street. We are hoping things will continue to improve.

Much Better Fit

This community is a much better fit for my mom. With her mental status, she tends to wander however this is a secured community so there is no worry about her getting out and getting lost. The staff is excellent they are very nice and kind very professional. They have continuous care sections which are nice. The food seems to be good. The activities no matter where you go seem to be the same. I just feel better knowing my mom is now getting the appropriate care and is being taken care of

Not Friendly

When I toured this community I was not impressed by any means. I found the staff is unfriendly and not helpful. I would ask questions and not get any answers that suited me. The community itself seemed to be clean but the overall environment was anything less than upbeat and cheerful.

A good community.

The staff at this community are taking great care of my mom. The director of admissions is unbelievable and compassionate. They are very engaged and keep the residents active. Mom likes the food and the community is very clean. They offer step down care and I would recommend this community.

A nice community

Things are going well at Allendale. Mom seems to like the food and they offer daily activities. She likes to participate in some of the trips offered. This community is clean and less expensive than some of the other communities in the area that offer the same care. I would recommend this community.

Not the right one...

When I toured the Allendale Community for Senior Living, I did not really care for it. I found another community that fit my mother's needs better.

This place is NOT Kosher. After asking on the phone a few times, they insisted they are. The menu read, philly cheesesteak and pork loin for Sunday night. We also did not care for the LTC facility. Too much mixing for the mentally challenged patients with the ones who are not as confused. Also, the smell as we entered was quite evident.

Things are going well at Allendale!!

I am very happy with this community. The staff are friendly when I visit. Mom has not complained about the food. I would recommend taking a look at this community. They offer a variety of daily activities. They keep the community clean.

I liked this community!!

Allendale Community was our second choice for respite care. The community we choose was closer. The staff we met were nice and the community was clean. They had a lot of open space with large windows to let in the light.

This seems to be a pretty nice place so far.

This seems to be a pretty nice place so far. They seemed reasonable when we were looking into options, and so far seems to be working out well. We are pretty happy with them so far.

A Short Visit

I needed to place my mom in this community for a 3 week respite care and everything went well. My mom said she enjoyed all the activities and was busy the whole time. The staff were welcoming and made my mom feel comfortable. Mom also enjoyed her meals and did not complain. The community is definitely clean but could use some sprucing up with fresh paint and new curtain drapes. I would recommend this community for a respite stay.

Allendale's Best Asset is their Staff

After a very rough 2 months trying to find the right place for mom, we moved her into Allendale. This was definitely the right fit for mom. She is living in Carlton Court, which is their memory care unit. The staff is extremely knowledgeable about working with patients with dementia. They are very patient and treat all residents with care and the utmost respect. Allendale offers 24 hour skilled nursing care in their memory care unit, which is not always the case at other facilities. Having people available to assist mom with that level of education and experience has made a world of difference. The activities in Carlton Court, while from the outside do not need that robust, they are appropriate for the residents. I would highly recommend Allendale to anyone looking for a place for their parent.

great place

Allendale Community for Senior Living was a great place. Some o f the furniture is old. The air conditioning button is broken. Not that it gets too hot but there needs to be that option. There is just some general wear and tear that needs updating. The staff were just wonderful. The swallowing therapist was just amazing. Overall we were satisfied.

Would be very careful of this facility & its owner

The CNA's are very good. The administrative staff will never respond to your needs. The owner and the administrative staff ignores your concerns, will never return a phone call, or letter. Continually raise rates (by the thousands of dollars), so be careful of your contract. The have doctors visit you and prescribe medications at at added costs (and do not inform your family). When you run out of money and need to go on Medicaid, they will try to kick you out, knowing your funds will run out.

Dr. Tim Giancarlo

Local Representative

Thank you for your comment. There seems to be several inaccuracies . Let me set the record straight. Of course we have a spend down for assisted living stay, but we will fill out the info for Medicaid applications and if approved, the resident has a home for life. Also, Allendale has the lowest rates in Bergen County by far. We do not nickel and dime our customers and do not charge extra for administration or monitoring of medications and we don't charge additional for cable TV, Wifi and phone. What the doctors charge is out of our scope and completely separate from the business. We always work with the residents and their families.
Dr. Tim Giancarlo

would recommend strongly if they had more outside activities to keep them busy but over all i do rate the facility a 5 star it is clean in side and out side i would tell others about the community i think the staff is helpful i gave the friendliness a 5 star rating i all so gave the cleanliness a 5

Great place

The facility is really clean- no odors. Everyone is willing to help with everything and anything. My mother raves about the food, and actually looks forward to going to meals, something that had been problematic in the past. There are a variety of activities ongoing throughout the day, and the residents have a choice of which to attend or not attend. Having visited a number of facilities prior to deciding on Allendale Mature Living, I found that this was not always the case. Most facilities only offered one activity at a time, the costs were substantially higher, they were not interested in discussing different levels of care, and they were not interested in transitioning if and when Mom's financial status changed, and what would be best for mom

Poor nursing care and rude administration. Excellent and very concerned rehab staff.. If not for rehab, I will suggest not to choose this facility for your loved ones.

Large facility with over 22...

Large facility with over 220 residents. May be too large for her. Facility is also older is is sorely showing its age. Rooms are being refurbished (e.g. carpets replaced with wood, painted, etc. but the bathrooms and kitchenettes are still old as are the hallways and common areas. Feel mom could get lost in the crowd.


It’s very well run, very clean. It seems like the nurses aids and nurses develop a bond with the patients both in the nursing home and in the memory care unit were my dad is. The food is good. It’s worth the money.

I am very pleased with this facility.

I am very pleased with this facility.

Great Community

They are a really good community. The staff is friendly and helpful. They were just excellent. They did lots of activities and the residents were really well cared for. We were very pleased with them and would recommend them to anyone.

From the Community

The Allendale Community for Senior Living offers four levels of residency and a full continuum of care on one campus at The Atrium Assisted Living; Carlton Court, a memory care neighborhood; The Allendale Nursing Home, for long-term skilled nursing care; and The Rehabilitation Center at The Allendale Community, a Medicare-certified subacute care community. In addition, the Community offers the Senior Social Club, an adult-day program that provides a variety of dynamic activities, as well as a Short-Term Stay Program and respite services for caregiver. This family-owned and operated community has earned a reputation for professionalism, innovation and its warm style. Given the Community's plush, hotel-like surroundings and the Giancarlo family's attention to detail, the all-inclusive monthly rental fees for The Allendale Community are surprisingly reasonable--with no large down payment or endowment required. Please plan to visit soon. You'll find that the Giancarlos have not only created the ideal adult lifestyle, they have made it truly affordable.