The Gardens of Bellaire - Bellaire, TX

Room Type Monthly Range* (USD)


Get Pricing >



Get Pricing >



Get Pricing >

Click Here to Get Pricing: Get Pricing

* Published prices are provided by the providers themselves, not by reviewers. Actual quotes may differ from what is presented based on timing and services required.

  • Minimum Age of Accepted Residents
  • Activities Onsite
  • Devotional Services Available
  • Indoor Common Areas
  • Meals Provided
  • Complimentary Transportation
  • Pets Allowed
  • No Smoking Allowed in Private Areas Indoors
  • No Smoking Allowed in Public Areas Indoors
  • Hospice Available

Customer Reviews

5 stars based on tour only. The facility is being updated so apartments are fresh and modern. The tour guide knew everyone we passed, talking to them. When asking how they were, none complained, all said they were ok or better. There were many residents actively playing Bingo in the main room. In the memory care common room, all were there watching tv. Smelled clean. There is an outdoor patio for the memory care residents as well as a path around the outside for those in assisted living. It's not a garden, but the lawns are relatively well groomed and there are benches every so often to rest.

I love living at the gardens of bellaire

I love living at the Gardens. It is a wonderful atmosphere and the staff is exceptional. I would recommend this place to any of my friends looking for senior facilities

Thank you to all of the staff at the Gardens of Bellaire


We have a hard time contacting our loved one . They rarely let us communicate together. They say to call back at the hours they are not available . It seems as if our loved one is on heavy medication and drifting away faster. This has been the most traumatic plus worst experience .

Not impressed

When my family members went to look at this community they were handed a form to fill out. When they sat down at a table to fill it out the table was dirty. They switched tables and the second one was wobbly. They threw the paper away and did not look at the community. There was no one there to assist them.

Great experience!!

I have no complaints about the experience I had at this community for my loved one . The tour was nice and they had a lot of great amenities available to all of there residents. It was just not in my loved ones budget to live in there facility .

Good Tour of this Facility

My father, and I had a good tour of this community. The community looked great, everything was very clean, and well maintained. The staff was friendly, and polite. It was a good experience overall, but my father preferred another community.

They have a very good memory care program!

We are extremely happy with this community. When we were looking into communities, it became clear that my mother needed memory care. When we toured The Gardens, they were starting out a program for memory care. It has worked out so well. I have visited high-end memory care units, and this one has been the best. I am very happy.

Feels like home

Love this community. They are extremely caring and very supportive

Pleasant Tour!

My tour of The Gardens of Bellaire went very well. The place was an older building, but very clean and well maintained. During my tour, they offered us the meals that they provide here, and they were very good. We chose another community for other reasons but this place was very nice.

No complaints!!

My mother has not been in this community long but so far I have had no complaints about the services they have been providing my mother. She has made the adjustment well and has really made her self right at home. The staff are accommodating and attentive to her needs and have positive energy while they work. I enjoy the fact that I have a peace of mind with her being there and would recommend this place to anyone looking into assisted living.

A tour to consider

I was happy the community and the cleanliness of the atmosphere. I know that staff was friendly and caring. They seemed not to mention how additional cost can arise. They do have alot of great activities for those who want to keep active. I would recommend the over all care here for others.

Five Star Reviews

Local Representative

I am the Executive Director and would like to thank you for your positive observations regarding our community and the atmosphere. I would appreciate the opportunity to visit with you about your comment pertaining to possible cost increases. Monthly fees might increase as care needs increase. We keep our residents and families apprised as the resident’s needs change so additional costs are not a surprise. The other component is possible ancillary items such as incontinent supplies, wound care supplies, etc. I will review with my team to ensure that costs are being presented appropriately. Please stop by or call me-my door is always open. Thank you for your consideration.

Excellent care

The level of care here is excellent for assisted living. The staff is so gracious and patient with the residents. The facility itself is always kept nice and clean. The activities seem to really be the right ones for the residents and they enjoy them which improves quality of life.

I toured here when I was looking and it was pretty nice.

I toured here when I was looking and it was pretty nice. I didn't think the value was that great though. I found another place, just as nice, for the same price but they offered more.

Not a happy camper here!

[removed] This week has been yet another one of frustration with no resolution. On Monday, August 24th, I spoke with Stephanie about the option to purchase the $50 per day bed my brother was occupying. She said she would have either Rachel, the social worker or Jennifer call me back with a response. Today, 5 days later I've heard NOTHING from either of them. Today I called the nurse's desk to see about getting my brother something for his sore throat. No one answered but I left a message. It's now 4 hours later and have yet to hear from anyone. Can you blame me for being upset?

Five Star Reviews

Local Representative

Ms. Baker:

I apologize that you have experienced some frustration with our community. Regarding the information on the possible purchase of the specialty bed, it is my understanding that Brian Byrne, Business Office Manager shared that information with you a little earlier on after your conversation with Jennifer Davenport, Medical Records & Central Supply Coordinator. This fact does not negate that you should have received a return call to ensure you had the information requested. In reference to the message left for the nurses, Stephanie set the phone to alert her that there is a message available in the voice mail to ensure a response is given. Also, as Stephanie shared with you during your phone conversation, please continue utilizing her cell phone number for any concerns that arise or if there has been a lack of response on any one’s part. Know that I am also always available by cell phone for any assistance you may need. That number can be obtained through our receptionist. Our goal continues to be for you to feel comfortable and for your brother to have excellent care and attention. Thank you for sharing your experience with us so that we may work to improve your satisfaction with us.

Rodney Lege,
Executive Director

Not a happy camper here!

I've posted on this website before. This week has been yet another one of frustration with no resolution. On Monday, August 24th, I spoke with Stephanie about the option to purchase the $50 per day bed my brother was occupying. She said she would have either Rachel, the social worker or Jennifer call me back with a response. Today, 5 days later I've heard NOTHING from either of them. Today I called the nurse's desk to see about getting my brother something for his sore throat. No one answered but I left a message. It's now 4 hours later and have yet to hear from anyone. Can you blame me for being upset?

It had all the tiers of care but was not as warm and comfortable as Elmcroft.

Exemplary in Every Way

I suffered three strokes this past January, and came to the Gardens after I recovered enough to be moved from Houston Methodist. I could not have asked for a better experience. Rodney (the director) was very kind and accommodating in getting me situated, and the nurses/nurses' aides were so friendly and attentive to my needs. They genuinely cared about my well-being, and made every effort to see that I felt at home. The physical therapy staff is unbelievable, and had me walking again about a month after I got there. I am happy to report that I have been back home for over three months now, and have completely recovered/gone back to my old life, none of which would've been possible without such a dedicated and skilled staff. I cannot recommend them enough should you or a loved one fall ill.

The Gardens of Bellaire A True Blessing

My mother is 96. She moved to Houston from Austin 1 1/2 years ago. She has traveled the road of independent living, assisted living, skilled nursing and back to assisted living. The Gardens of Bellaire has allowed her to have the best possible quality of life that she can have at this time. The staff of The Gardens of Bellaire are loving, efficient and truly caring. They go beyond the call to make arrangements for those under their care to have the best service available for a reasonable cost. There are many reasons that this can be a difficult time in the life of families. I feel so fortunate that I found The Gardens of Bellaire for my mother.

I think their meals are good. Overall I think the responsiveness and overall care is not there yet completely. It is adequate but it could be better.

Five Star Reviews

Local Representative

Thank you for your review and feedback. We continuously look for ways to improve our service and I welcome an opportunity to visit about your thoughts and concerns. I can be reached by telephone if you would like to visit, or if you would prefer to stop by for a visit, you are welcome to do that as well. Thanks again for your post, Rodney Lege, Executive Director.

Not what it purports to be.

I moved my brother there after he spent a couple of weeks at another nursing facility that was truly awful. Gardens of Bellaire looks really nice, but after a number of weeks there I'm really disappointed. There is no communication. I live out of state so I hoped to be able to depend on someone at Gardens who cared and would keep me in the loop. I've called a number of times to address issues that arose; the social worker Rachel, was so busy with whatever it is she does, that she never found time to visit my brother and address his concerns. Then she went on maternity leave. Have no idea if anyone was covering for her; I would get connected to the nurse's station; they could never give me any definitive answers. I called this morning and spoke to Stephanie who said she would follow up on my brother's sore throat and bleeding penis and call me back. Well the day is now over and I received no call. My brother desperately wants me to move him. The recorded messages one gets while on hold promises all this care and concern for their patients. Hah! I know it's not easy to find the perfect place, but I'd urge those looking to evaluate other facilities

Five Star Reviews

Local Representative

I am the Executive Director and I am genuinely interested in your concerns. We do business by open and sincere communication; as well as our open door policy so that residents, family members, and associates may come to us for questions or assistance. It was my understanding that the Director of Nursing Services did try to contact you and left a message that evening. Regarding the specifics of your posting , I feel it more appropriate to discuss over the phone as I do not want to violate any HIPPA rules. The information included in your post has been shared with our Management team so that we can ensure your satisfaction. If, at any time you need assistance, or are not sure who to speak with, please ask for me. We want you to feel comfortable and for your brother to have excellent care and an abundance of personal attention. Thank you so much for your consideration. Rodney Lege, Executive Director.

I Just Can't Say Enough About This Community

I can't say enough about how sweet everyone is here. This is the place, The Gardens of Bellaire is kept spotlessly clean. Everyone does their job and doesn't complain. I love the food. 98% of the time you would say this was a great dinner. I really do enjoy living here. I really am lucky to be so close to my church and living here. I love everybody! On a scale of 1 to 5 I rate this place a 6!

We have toured this facility and were highly impressed

Not the most beautiful garden

I had two family members at this facility at the same time sharing a room. The assisted living side is extremely expensive and not worth the price. The quality of the food was terrible and lacked variety. If a resident could not eat in the main dining room their meal tray was taken to their room. However, there was a charge for room service. The laundry room was small and my family member's clothes always smelled musty and stale after being washed. Some of their clothing shrunk. There was always a change of staff so it was hard to keep up with staff members going and coming. Staff were not always friendly and caring. At times staff were slow to respond to requests and call buttons. Also, transportation to medical appts was not available daily as I had been led to believe at move-in. Transportation was only available twice weekly. On occasions there were large cockroaches roaming the prop erty. One medication aide dropped on of my mother's pills on the floor and gave the pill to my mother. My mother refused to take the pill as she had seen roaches crawling on the floor near the medication cart. All in all our experience there was not happy and pleasant. I will commend the social director, Cedric on his efforts to provide entertainment and nice social activities for the residents and family members.

It's excellent for assisted living,

It's excellent for assisted living, we were going to go there. However once our situation changed, it was no longer the best fit for our situation. It would have been more restrictive for her social interaction, and would have raised the price quite a bit, for us. But they are really good at socializing their residents and have great care. They are a great place.

Had a terrible skilled nursing experience

These comments are specifically for the skilled nursing section of the community. We had a horrendous experience here. First of all, they seem severely understaffed, the residents were often just put in chairs and left sitting all day. Sometimes we would find that my loved one had slid into incredibly uncomfortable looking positions in his wheelchair, and he was just left that way. The food was also awful, they didn't seem to make any effort to provide a balanced or nutritious diet. At one point my loved one was served completely uncooked chicken. A family member discovered him obviously very ill, and when we had him sent to the hospital it turns out he was severely dehydrated, and was being given improper medication. Avoid this place at all costs.

Five Star Reviews

Local Representative

Thank you for sharing this information so that we are able to address the concerns you have listed. I am so sorry that you had such a terrible experience while your loved one was in our care, and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you, as this is not our way of conducting business. In the last two months, we have brought back a well-respected Activities professional, brought on a new Food & Beverage Director, worked to hire additional staffing to address staffing needs, and have conducted training for our team members to assure open communication regarding best practices, concerns or issues, changes in policies and procedures, and compliments for services rendered. The information presented in your post has been shared with our Management team so that we may review and research the areas you listed. If you would like to visit more in depth regarding your concerns, please feel free to contact me at the number listed below. Once again, thanks for posting a review online. Your input is appreciated.


Rodney P Lege
Executive Director
The Gardens of Bellaire

Nice place overall, could work on their communication

My loved one lived in this community for quite a while before we needed to move her to be closer to family. She enjoyed it here, although I found them to be hard to work with. It was difficult to get a hold of anyone in charge, and requests and questions I had were never taken care of in a very timely manner. We also had issues with her mail getting lost or misplaced fairly frequently. One thing they did well was the meals. The food was good, they usually had a good variety of options, and they were willing to prepare simple things not on the menu by request.

Five Star Reviews

Local Representative

Thank you for your feedback. I am thankful to hear that your loved one enjoyed living in our community and that we did well with meals. In reference to the issues you presented, I apologize for any inconvenience these may have caused you. Upon my arrival as the new Executive Director in February of this year, I implemented an open door policy whereby all managers would avail themselves to any resident/patient/family member/guest/team member in order for there to be opportunity for open communication. Every morning, we have a meeting to discuss any issues that have arisen so we can assure resolution to the best of our ability. The information in your post has been shared with our management team so that we may review the areas you listed. Once again, thank you for posting a review online. Your input is appreciated.


Rodney P Lege
Executive Director
The Gardens of Bellaire

sm studio $3100 252 sqft. ...

sm studio $3100 252 sqft. 96 residents/102 staff Too expensive

They are very clean, and the staff is very friendly a five +.

They are very clean, and the staff is very friendly a five plus. They are very impressive. They were very proactive in working with us to make sure we were happy, and that we had the room we wanted. This is still very new for us, but it is going well so far. We are pleased.

Lot's of room for improvement, but the staff is wonderful.

The staff is very considerate and very attentive, some are very kind and really decent. A few are disagreeable but get the job done. We chose them because they seemed very friendly and are in a convenient location for us. The food is very average, completely uninspired, it is ordinary. It's not foul, it's just canned food, canned soups tasteless soups, just ordinary and disappointing. The dining room staff has a tendency to rush people and start putting things away before people are done eating, which is annoying. The wine they serve is really cheap and not good, but it's nice that they serve wine. They keep it cleaned and the flowers on the table are a nice touch. The kitchen door area where people go in and out is not clean. The silverware and dishes are very worn. The place is quite shabby but is being remodeled now. The Staff really are genuinely nice. They take good care of her. I was disappointed, that I spent an hour cleaning her room. It took a while to get her settled, and I was disappointed by a lot of the thoughtless little things that go unnoticed, making sure that they are able to reach the things that are needed, or making sure she can get around her room.

The gardens visit

I visited the Gardens of Bellaire. The cleanliness is adequate for a community. The staff was very friendly. It was a good value, about par with other communities. They had good care services, and there were activities available. All in all, a good community.

Did not have a good experience here

I placed my loved one here for rehab, and I knew within a few minutes of getting him into his room that it was a mistake, and I put in the paperwork to get him somewhere else before I left. The room itself was not set up well for a physically impaired person at all. Also when my Dad had an emergency it took them far too long to respond to his buzzer. The food was also absolutely terrible, he was losing weight until I started bringing in something for him to eat.

Review of Assistance fir finding Mother-in-law a home

Carol Kalmanoff helped me find a home for my Mother-in-law. She could no longer live in an independent living facility and I needed to find assisted living. I contacted Carol because she helped me find the independent living facility and we were pleased with her help. Carol set up assisted living appointments and gave me information about each. We toured each and I was able to make a decision quickly. Carol was helpful, very responsive, professional and answered all of my questions, She also followed up with me after my tours to find out I had made a decision or needed more suggestions. I gave Carol my criteria and she found an affordable facility one freeway exit from my home. This is very convenient for me and my mother-n-law loves the facility. She is getting involved with activities that she would not consider when he was living in independent facility. Thank you Carol.


My wife and I go there every week. It's pretty good. It's supposed to be rated 5 stars and I always say it's 5 star but it's $1000 a star! It's very pricey but they keep it going well. We have friends there and do an activity there once a week. You have to have some resources.

Better than the others and wonderful food!

Everything's going well, I have a lot of private care that's involved, so value is a hard one to rate but that's the nature of the beast and that's because its an assisted lviing place and they have severe alzheimers. What they do provide though, they're very good. I've had a family member here for 4 plus years so I'm kind of a veteran at it, so I know the staff and I know how to get things done. Things are going good and thats why I placed other family members here. I did check out some others but they didn't compare to the gardens. Initially, they did enjoy some of the entertainment and saw shows and things like that and its a hit or a miss but they do what they can.
The food is a 5++ star, its so much better than the other facilities. They're enjoying it also and they cater to special diet needs too.

no kitchen, small fridge and microwav...

no kitchen, small fridge and microwave. Small 3000, Med 3500. Need to check level of Care included in base. Med shuttles Tue and Thu. Shopping shuttles weekly. Skilled nursing on hand. Nurse onsite from 6 am to 10 pm. Prsonal laundry included in price.

From the Community

Brighton Gardens provides assisted living in an apartment-style setting that offers the simple pleasures - nutritious food, comfortable surroundings, and the support of a warm, caring and competent staff. Our Skilled Nursing Center emphasizes resident care and dignity in private or shared accommodations. We offer a variety of nursing care and support services including 24-hour skilled nursing care, post hospital and post surgical care, restorative care, coordination of physician and pharmacy services and family counseling. A Short Stay Program for seniors who need short-term care may also be available. It is the ideal alternative for recuperating after a hospital stay, while family caregivers are on vacation or if you just want to try out assisted living. Please call for more information or to schedule a visit to find out how Brighton Gardens can enrich your life or the life of a loved one.